Compass Zones

Home / Glossary / Compass Zones

There are five different world zones because different magnetic forces have to be considered. Only at the equator the field lines run horizontally (inclination = 0°), at the poles the inclination reaches nearly 90° – in between all intermediate values can be found. On the northern hemisphere the north pole of the compass rose is “pulled down”, on the southern hemisphere the south pole.

Steiner Australia
Steiner Australia Logo
x Logo: Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security